Six Geopolitical Zones In Nigeria With Their States

Six Geopolitical Zones In Nigeria With Their States
Six Geopolitical Zones In Nigeria With Their States

Nigeria is divided into six  which consist of states with close geographical location, similar history, cultures and political ideologies.

The six in Nigeria were created during the military regime of President Ibrahim Babangida. Nigeria's economic, political and educational resources are often shared across the zones. Below is a list of the zones and the states that fall under each of them.

1. NORTH CENTRAL (7 States)

Niger State, Kogi State, Benue State, Plateau State, Nassarawa State, Kwara State and the Federal Capital Territory.

2. NORTH EAST (6 States)

Bauchi State, Borno State, Taraba State, Adamawa State, Gombe State and Yobe State.

3. NORTH WEST (7 States)

Zamfara State, Sokoto State, Kaduna State, Kebbi State, Katsina State, Kano State and Jigawa State.

4. SOUTH EAST (5 States)

Enugu State, Imo State, Ebonyi State, Abia State and Anambra State.

5. SOUTH SOUTH  (6 States)

Bayelsa State, Akwa Ibom State, Edo State, Rivers State, Cross River State and Delta State.

6. SOUTH WEST (6 States)

Oyo State, Ekiti State, Osun State, Ondo State, Lagos State and Ogun State.

About Shedrach 1164 Articles
Shedrach Chijioke Egwuogu ( AKA Shedi ) is the founder and CEO of Shedibase, he is a web designer and a blogger from Anambra State. This website is designed to bring to you breaking News on Sports, Entertainment and Politics.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.